Sevilla book Champions League spot for next season

Spanish football, for the first time, could have eight representatives in Europe next season. The top four in La Liga go into the Champions League, fifth and sixth to the Europa League, and the seventh place team to the Europa Conference League.

Europa League winners Sevilla will play in next season’s Champions League. This will mean that there will be five Spanish teams in the next edition of the Champions League and eight clubs in all of the European competitions. But for there to be that number of teams, Sevilla must not finish in seventh place. José Luis Mendilibar’s side currently sit in 11th place, meaning, as it stands, there will be eight Spanish representatives in Europe next season.

What happens if Sevilla finish seventh? Well, Spain will lose its Conference League place. That happened two seasons ago when Villarreal finished in the same position and won the Europa League, which resulted in the loss of the Conference League place.

With one matchday left in La Liga, Sevilla can still finish in the top seven. But for that to happen, they need a win against Real Sociedad on Sunday, a draw in the Osasuna-Girona game, and for Athletic Club and Rayo Vallecano not to win.

European places in Spain

Champions League: Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, Real Sociedad and Sevilla

Europa League: Villarreal and Real Betis

Conference League: to be decided between Osasuna, Athletic, Girona, Rayo and Sevilla (if Sevilla finish seventh, the Conference League spot is gone)

Kieran Quaile | GSFN

More European Football News