Mark Clattenburg admits 2016 Champions League final error: “Real Madrid’s goal was offside.”

Writing in his weekly column for the Daily Mail, former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg admitted that he made a mistake with the first goal in the 2016 Champions League final between Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid.

Sergio Ramos opened the scoring after 15 minutes in Milan, but it wasn’t until Clattenburg watched back at half time that he realised the goal shouldn’t have stood.

In that final Real Madrid went 1-0 up in the first half but the goal was slightly offside and we realised at half-time. It was a hard call and my assistant missed it.”

I gave Atletico a penalty early in the second half when Pepe fouled Fernando Torres. Pepe was furious and said to me in perfect English: ‘Never a penalty, Mark.’ I said to him: ‘Your first goal shouldn’t have stood.’ It shut him up.”

Antoine Griezmann smashed the penalty off the crossbar but a late Yannick Carrasco equaliser forced the game into extra-time, and Real Madrid went on to win 5-3 on penalties to lift their 11th European Cup.

More European Football News