The players competing to win the 2023 Ballon d’Or

Thirty players have been nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or ahead of the ceremony on October 30.

Lionel Messi is the favourite to win this year after lifting the 2022 World Cup with Argentina in Qatar. Manchester City striker Erling Haaland won a treble in his first season at the club – scoring 52 goals along the way – and is therefore also among the favourites to win the trophy.

Other European-based stars, including Vinícius Júnior, Kylian Mbappé and Kevin De Bruyne will be aiming to finish in the top three.

The 30 players

Julián Álvarez – Manchester City/Argentina
Nicolo Barella – Inter/Italy
Jude Bellingham – Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid/England
Karim Benzema – Real Madrid/Al Ittihad/France
Yassine Bounou – Sevilla/Al Hilal/Morocco
Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City/Belgium
Ruben Dias – Manchester City/Portugal
Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid/France
Ilkay Gundgan – Manchester City/Barcelona/Germany
Josko Gvardiol – RB Leipzig/Manchester City/Croatia
Erling Haaland – Manchester City/Norway
Harry Kane – Tottenham/Bayern Munich/England
Randal Kolo Muani – Eintracht Frankfurt/PSG/France
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia – Napoli/Georgia
Robert Lewandowski – Barcelona/Poland
Emiliano Martínez – Aston Villa/Argentina
Lautaro Martínez – Inter/Argentina
Kylian Mbappé – PSG/France
Lionel Messi – PSG/Inter Miami/Argentina
Kim Min-Jae – Napoli/Bayern Munich/South Korea
Luka Modric – Real Madrid/Croatia
Jamal Muaiala – Bayern Munich/Germany
Martin Odegaard – Arsenal/Norway
Andre Onana – Inter/Manchester United/Cameroon
Victor Osimhen – Napoli/Nigeria
Rodri – Manchester City/Spain
Bukayo Saka – Arsenal/England
Mohamed Salah – Liverpool/Egypt
Bernardo Silva – Manchester City/Portugal
Vinícius Júnior – Real Madrid/Brazil

Kieran Quaile | GSFN

More European Football News