Official | Thibaut Courtois wins Yashin Trophy

Thibaut Courtois has won the Yashin Trophy for his performances throughout the 2021-22 season.

The award, which was founded in 2019, was won by Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker in its inaugural year and by Italy shot-stopper Gianluigi Donnarumma in 2021.

Courtois collected the award due to his outstanding contribution to Real Madrid’s success last season. The Belgian netminder earned the Man of the Match award after Real Madrid’s Champions League final victory over Liverpool in Paris in May.

“I want to thank my team-mates and Real Madrid. I’m really proud to win this trophy,” Courtois said after winning the prize.

The Belgium international kept 16 clean sheets in 36 games in La Liga last season and finished seventh in the Ballon d’Or top 10 in 2022. Courtois kept 23 clean sheets in 57 games in all competitions in 2021-22.

Yashin Trophy nominees

Yassine Bounou (Sevilla)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid) – WINNER

Ederson (Manchester City)

Mike Maignan (AC Milan)

Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid)

Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)


More European Football News