Luis de la Fuente names first Spain squad

Luis de la Fuente has named his first Spain squad since replacing Luis Enrique.

Goalkeepers: Kepa, Robert Sánchez, David Raya

Defenders: Gayà, Nacho, Íñigo Martínez, Balde, David García, Pedro Porro, Laporte, Carvajal

Midfielders: Rodri, Fabían Ruiz, Zubimendi, Pedri, Ceballos, Gavi, Mikel Merino

Forwards: Morata, Dani Olmo, Nico Williams, Bryan Gil, Iago Aspas, Joselu, Oyarzabal, Gerard Moreno

De la Fuente has only called up 11 players of the 26 who played in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Spain will take on Norway and Scotland later this month to kick off their Euro 2024 qualifying campaign.

De la Fuente in charge

With De la Fuente in charge of La Roja after the departure of Luis Enrique, his squad selection suggests he is planning to mix things up. He has added experience with the additions of Nacho and Iago Aspas and is a coach who also enjoys a possession-based style of football, but whose teams can mix it up with more direct play from wide positions.

Kieran Quaile | GSFN

More European Football News